Winners of the XXXVII Pärnu Film Festival


Welcome to Pärnu, to the cradle of the Republic of Estonia!

XXXVIII Pärnu Documentary and Science Film Festival will take place on October 6–13 2024 in Pärnu and October 13–20 2024 in other locations of Estonia. In the autumn of 2024 the awarded docs will be screened at the Estonian Art Museum in Tallinn as well as at the Estonian National Museum in Tartu, the Cultural Capital of Europe 2024.

We await submissions from all over the world.

 Early submissions have an entry fee of five euros up to April 1st, 2024. From that date through the deadline in June 1st, 2024, the submission fee will be 15 euros per entry.

The selection committee will announce their decision latest by August 1st, 2024.

We hope to compose a powerful program of docs of high artistic and scientific quality. From the very beginning, our focus has been on folk arts, disappearing cultures as well as future of young people. In the time of bloody wars, we seek docs with messages for peaceful world. 


Before submitting your film, please read and accept  regulations of our festival.


  • Read through festival Regulations
  • Pay your submission fee 5 or 15 EUR via PayPal
  • Fill in and submit the entry form that you will receive after payment
  • Deadline for submission is June 1st, 2024!




Michal Kawecki (left) – winner of the Estonian People’s Award for the documentary NO HERO AT ALL.

Dane Dodds (right) – winner of the GRAND PRIZE as the best artistic achievement for !AITSA.





Pärnu Film Festival

NO HERO AT ALL by Michal Kawecki, Poland – the Estonian People’s Award voted by the audience of Estonian Television.

!AITSA by Dane Dodds, Denmark – GRAND PRIZE as the best artistic achievement.

REMAINS by Linus Mork, Denmark – as the best science film.

AMONG US WOMEN by Sarah Noa Bozenhardt and Daniel Abate Tilahun, Germany – as the best doc on survival of indigenous peoples.

HELL`S STOKER by Kullar Viimne, Estonia – as the best full length art doc.


CARPENTER by Xelil Sehragerd, Kurdistan – as the best short art doc.

TELL ME MY STORY by Maciej Miller, Poland – as the best short film.

CALLS by Ming-Wei Chiang and COQ AU VIN by Ville Seppänen – as the best student docs.

DOCTOR APA by Ibadilla Adzhibaev, Kyrgyzstan – with the special mention for an outstanding recording of survival of native peoples.

WHAT`S HECUBA TO HIM by Peteris Krilovs and Iveta Budrevica, Latvia – with the special mention for the high artistic and human value.

LANDSCAPE AFTER HOLODOMOR by Yuri Tereshchenko, Ukraine – with the special mention for the high historical recording.

DANS LES BRA by Nathalie Rosetti, Belgium – with the special mention for a very warm message to human beings.







Kullar Viimne, director, and Eric Norkroos, producer of the best art doc
film HELL`S STOKER. Seaküla Simson, the main character of the film

Alain Verschueren, the main character of the film IN THE ARMS

On behalf of the XXXVI Pärnu International Documentary and Science Film
Festival we award the masterpiece TELL ME MY STORY by Maciej Miller as
the best short film.


Upcoming Events


Please, choose date







A big thank you to all of our supporters