Photo gallery of the 34th PFF award ceremony

Honoring the best films and filmmakers of the 34th edition of Pärnu Film Festival, the award ceremony was held in the Pärnu New Art Museum on Saturday, 24th of October.

Sami filmmaker Paul-Anders Simma and cinematographer Elen Lotman were given the Estonian People´s Award for “My Dear Mother”. The film received most votes from the TV-viewers of the competition on Estonian National Television. It is a moving portrait of a 9-year old Sami girl Dasha who grows up in a Russian orphanage, despite having both parents alive. 

Ever since the birth of the festival, the winners are decorated with hand-woven carpets. This year´s woollen trophies came from the artist Christy Kütt who in her work drew inspiration from traditional aprons of the small Muhu island. 

Second carpet will travel to Finnish contemporary artist and filmmaker Perttu Saksa for his film “Animal Image” which the international jury chose as the winner of the Grand Prize. “Animal Image” is a mesmerizing journey in time and space, observing the relationship of human and animal. The award was accepted by the director of Finnish Institute in Estonia, Anu Heinonen. 

Also present to accept his award was Ville Niemi, a student of Baltic Film and Media School. His poetic doc “World´s Fire” was chosen as one of the two best student films at the festival. As the photos show, the young Finnish filmmaker left the ceremony dressed in “troi”, traditional men’s sweater of Kihnu island. 

The awards were handed over by chief of Pärnu Film Festival, Mark Soosaar, head of the international jury Kersti Uibo and two former county governors of Pärnu, Kalev Kaljuste and Toomas Kivimägi. 

To compliment the ceremony with sounds, Elsa Lydia Virta played chromatic kannel and singers and musicians from overseas had brought traditional tunes from Kihnu island. The event was recorded by Estonian National Broadcasting and later in the evening aired on ETV2.

Festival ended on Sunday with Kersti Uibo´s timeless documentary “Wombstone”.                                                                                                              A warm THANK YOU to everyone who contributed in making this festival happen!


Photos by Ants Liigus, Marie Virta & Reet Könninge